Shiprock, NM Office

Shiprock AML Reclamation Program
P.O. Box 3605
1 Uranium Blvd
Shiprock, N.M. 87420
Toll Free at 1-800-215-6226
Fax: (505) 368-1227

 

NAME

TITLE

EMAIL

Rose Grey

Program Manager II

rgrey@navajo-nsn.gov

Bertha Matchers

Administrative Assistant

bmatchers@navajo-nsn.gov

Leon Spencer

Program & Projects Specialist

l.spencer@navajo-nsn.gov   

Melvin Yazzie

Principal Mining Engineer

mh_yazzie@navajo-nsn.gov

Gilbert Dayzie

Civil Engineer II

gdayzie@navajo-nsn.gov

Lorenzo Begay

Principal Engineering Technician

l_begay@navajo-nsn.gov

Anselm John

Engineering Technician

ajohn@navajo-nsn.gov

Victor Lee

GIS Technician

vjlee@navajo-nsn.gov

Joni Tallbull

Senior Environmental Specialist

jtallbull@navajo-nsn.gov

 

EVENTS

July 11Community Media Outreach Open House (WR)

July 20-23Eastern Navajo Fair – Crownpoint

July 21Parade Day – Crownpoint, NM

July 26Dine Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission (DURAC) Meeting White Cone Multipurpose Building

August 20-23Long Term Stewardship Conference DOE-LM, Grand Jct CO

August 23Dine Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission (DURAC) Meeting Bodaway/Gap Chapter House

NEWS

Lakewood uranium company gets federal OK to expand in Utah (Feb. 28)

https://www.bizjournals.com/denver/news

/2018/02/28/lakewood-uranium-company-

gets-federal-ok-to-expand.html

 

Navajo, Havasupai resist uranium mining (Feb. 27)

https://www.grandcanyonnews.com/news/

2018/feb/27/navajo-havasupai-resist-uranium-mining/

 

Amid Calls for a U.S. Uranium Mining Renewal, Recalling Its Toxic Past (Feb. 27)

https://undark.org/article/uranium-mining-toxic-legacy/

 

Before the US Approves New Uranium Mining, Consider Its Toxic Legacy (Feb. 24)

https://www.pbs.org/newshour/nation/

before-the-u-s-approves-new-uranium-mining-consider-its-toxic-legacy

 

Navajo President: Go To College, Then Bring That Knowledge Home (Feb. 18)

https://www.npr.org/2018/02/18/585876316

/navajo-president-go-to-college-then-bring-that-knowledge-home

 

Researchers measure mixed metals mining contamination on Native Americans (Feb. 4)

https://www.abqjournal.com/1129580/

researchers-to-measure-mixed-metals-mining-contamination-on-native-americans.html